Crawling Out of the Pit

If you saw my post yesterday, you would know that it was dark and despondent, full of “woe me”.  Today I see a blog post from the Reverend of my church and it spoke to me, loud and clear.

In it, she speaks of “disgust at what I’ve become”.  Oh yes…”disgust” is exactly what I’ve been feeling about myself…in the midst of my anguish and worry this weekend, there was this underlying, niggling feeling of disgust at my negativity.  You see, I *know* on a deep level that the truth is “love and abundance for all” and this negativity is just a temporary illusion.  I just felt a million miles away from the truth.  So I was grateful for the reminder of her this morning, and of the truths she reminds me of.

She has this line she always says in service “may we be gentle in our brokenness“.  The first time I heard that, tears came to my eyes, the message is so beautiful.  I need to remember that…just be gentle with myself…no self-flagellation required.

The rest of her post is this:

“…you know, there is a way out.  Through the heart in gratitude.  Through the mind, in humility.  Through the senses, in releasing the “drama of me” into the presence of wholeness.

When feeling that you are no good, just trust that you are wrong, and find a way to be kind or acknowledge beauty.  You may not feel immediately better, but you’ll have begun to break the spell.”

Thank you Rev. Lisa, for the reminder of the truth and for pointing the way out of the pit.  Your post broke the spell.  Now, onward to feeling better.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jeanette Verster
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 16:26:14

    Didn’t read yesterday but HUGS, glad you’re getting out of the pit.
    What a beautiful message!!

    Reply

  2. charms2512
    Nov 03, 2010 @ 05:13:36

    Beautiful message – yes be gentle with yourself my friend.

    Reply

  3. Jen (Huckdoll)
    Nov 11, 2010 @ 19:05:51

    I just loved this … can relate to much of it.

    Gentle (((hugs)))

    Reply

Leave a Reply

